Help - Locking Rear Axle Question

mdepll
Feb 08, 2021

Rank II

Feb 08, 2021

Novice here, so please don't jump all over me. It has been suggested that I should consider adding a locking rear diff on my big bend. Not knowing much, outside of traction advantages and higher fuel cost. Can someone please explain what's the difference between 3.7s open that's included and the 4.27 rear locking that's suggested. Thanks
Last edited by a moderator: Feb 08, 2021

No Ragerts

Feb 08, 2021

@mdepll Quite simply an open differential will only supply power to 1 wheel. Limited slip will apply the 2 wheels as needed however, a locked differential will allow you to “lock” the 2 wheels so they ALWAYS turn at the same rate. Locked differentials for off road vehicles are preferred in order to provide maximum traction.
- 2023 Raptor / Shadow Black / MGV (DOB 8/30/23)
- 2023 Heritage Limited Edition / Robin’s Egg Blue / 4dr / (stolen from my dealer 11/15/23)
Bronc96, nic

Rank II

Feb 08, 2021

thank you? so if rear are locked at 4.27 ratio then what's ratio for front wheels? how much of an impact on gas mileage will there be?

Having slickrock withdraw!

Feb 08, 2021

thank you? so if rear are locked at 4.27 ratio then what's ratio for front wheels? how much of an impact on gas mileage will there be?
The front axle and the rear axle will have the same 4.27 ratio. There is a little different RPM difference between the two but shouldn't be a big deal. I suppose if you were DD on-road only and putting a lot of miles on it, then the 3.73s are the way to go.
Look at this thread and you can see the RPM difference. Looks like there is about 250rpm difference at 70mph.

https://community.thebronconation.com/forums/threads/broncos-rpms-70mph-for-each-series.2377/
2022 Bronco Badlands, 4D, Hot Pepper Red, 2.7, Squatch, Lux, and MIC.
7/13/2020 10:04pm reservation. Blend 6/16/2022 Delivered 6/26/2022.
Dealership - Stephen's Auto Center.
Bronc96, mdepll

No Ragerts

Feb 08, 2021