Braking Issue-Frightening!

Chris Samfilippo
Mar 28, 2022

Rank 0

Mar 28, 2022

Hello all. I'm new to the Bronco experience, having recently bought a 89 Bronco II. I love the truck. Yesterday, while running an errand with my wife, I had to brake for a yellow light. I was traveling about 40 mph and I don't think I hit the brakes especially hard. But they locked up. I had presence of mind to ease up--and then apply again but they locked up a second time. It was a bit startling because the back-end of the truck went very slightly "out from under".
Is this normal? Is it a function of drum brakes?
TailGunner, MrMRPhoto
Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2022

Rank III

Mar 28, 2022

I love this post....BINGO...careful you are aging yourself...or is it me?
Yes, Drum brakes are no bueno. Good news is, you can swap to disc with not too much trouble. We did it on our Scout and Road Runner. Enjoy that classic, but spring for the modern brakes for sure!
2Dr, Badlands, High, 2.7L, deleted bumper upgrade & tow pkg, Cactus Gray

No Ragerts

Mar 28, 2022

Hello all. I'm new to the Bronco experience, having recently bought a 89 Bronco II. I love the truck. Yesterday, while running an errand with my wife, I had to brake for a yellow light. I was traveling about 40 mph and I don't think I hit the brakes especially hard. But they locked up. I had presence of mind to ease up--and then apply again but they locked up a second time. It was a bit startling because the back-end of the truck went very slightly "out from under".

Sounds like your brakes are either not properly adjusted or you are having a mechanical issue. Since you stated that the back end came out a bit I suspect that a cable on 1 side may have locked up or frozen. I would start with a proper inspection by pulling the wheel & drum and verifying the condition of all the parts - if you are not comfortable with this, please seek professional assistance from a reputable repair facility.