Revived 86 manual

Denniscurren
Sep 11, 2020

Rank 0

Sep 11, 2020

Hey guys I’m new to the bronco community and just got a straight 6 to start after 10 years sitting with a new battery and fuel. I need help because the bronco dies after running hot in idle. It runs well ok the highway for a while but if I stop and turn it off, then it will be tough to start and will need to be feathered and shifted to get going steady again. The previous owner claims it’s a sensor. Any tips or potential solutions? I’m new to these engines and am at a loss. Thanks.
Last edited by a moderator: Sep 11, 2020

Rank VI

Sep 11, 2020

I believe you are running a carburetor... but certain 1986 Broncos do have EFI. That is the first thing to check. If you are running a carb... it is not a sensor. If you have a carb finding a good mechanic is going to be challenge. look for a small mom and pop repair shop.... most of the chain repair places have a younger work force... and since no carb's have been produced in 30 years...tuning a carb is a dying skill.

The 300 six is a beast..... I would start checking vacuum hoses. After 30 years the hoses start to fail. The old shade tree trick is to get a can of WD40... and with the engine running spray a little WD40 around the vacuum hose ( where it is connected) if the engine increases idle.... it is sucking up the WD40 through the vacuum leak.

The 1986 is my favorite "bull nose" bronco. Upload some pictures so we see what she looks like.
Deano Bronc

Rank 0

Sep 11, 2020

I believe you are running a carburetor... but certain 1986 Broncos do have EFI. That is the first thing to check. If you are running a carb... it is not a sensor. If you have a carb finding a good mechanic is going to be challenge. look for a small mom and pop repair shop.... most of the chain repair places have a younger work force... and since no carb's have been produced in 30 years...tuning a carb is a dying skill.