Power Folding Mirror Upgrade?

Jstump99
Jan 13, 2022

Rank VI

Jan 13, 2022

I was always surprised that there was not a power folding option, even on the highest level Broncos. I know a lot of people will laugh at the need of this, but being a city driver I am often thankful for the power folding mirrors in our Ranger.

If there’s any parts developers that wanna use my Base 4-door when it arrives as a tester - by all means .
Base 4dr - Cyber Orange - 2.3 AT, Soft Top - Aux, Flr Lnrs, Keypad | Ordered 12/28/21 - W.S. 4/14/22 - Blend 4/21 - Built 4/25 - Shipped 5/19 - Final Prep 5/19
Jakob1972
Last edited by a moderator: Jan 13, 2022

Rank IV

Jan 13, 2022

Couldn't get it both ways, Mirrors not mounted on removable doors, or power fold mirrors on removable doors. As currently set up, the mirror would be in the way every time you opened the door with power fold. Sure, could be programmed to move when an unlock button was pressed, but imagine how many mirrors would be damaged or just cause damage from those that simply grab the handle and open with auto entry. Ford polled off roaders and determined that having a mirror mounted to the body was more important than mounting them on the door.
Soupcook, Deano Bronc

Rank VI

Jan 13, 2022

Couldn't get it both ways, Mirrors not mounted on removable doors, or power mirrors on removable doors. As currently set up, the mirror would be in the way every time you opened the door with power fold. Sure, could be programmed to move when an unlock button was pressed, but imagine how many mirrors would be damaged or just cause damage from those that simply grab the handle and open with auto entry. Ford polled off roaders and determined that having a mirror mounted to the body was more important than mounting them on the door.

You know…. I hadn’t even thought about the complexity of it being a pillar mounted. That does make it rather difficult I suppose. Oh well, I will just be more selective over parking and have to manually fold.